Abandoned brewery, which finds its origin in the early 18th century. The brewing group officially went into business around 1730 and drastically expanded in the following decades, reaching a brewing-capacity of millions of hectoliters annually. During its heydays, this blossoming brewing empire changed hands more than once and was progressively incorporated into increasingly larger brewing companies. Nowadays, the iconic factory stands abandoned, while the beer continues to be brewed – following the original recipe – in new, state-of-the-art breweries.
The old brewery was built in the 1870-80’s. The malting plant was added in the late 1890’s. After WW2 the beer production stopped and since then the buildings have been used for various other businesses. A sports association has built sports halls, a sauna and even a bowling alley in the old brewery. Later a big bar with dance halls was added. Nowadays a big part of the Brauhaus has been reconverted to make place for offices.